img_0878img_0880img_0891imageimg_0886

My pinch pot was a darker grey when I put it into the kiln, when it came out it was a distinct white. After the bisque firing I could tell my pinch pot had shrunk. Not significantly. Lastly, the pinch pot had a very powdery coating after firing.

I chose red for the foot designs on my bowl. Then I did three coats of black around the outside and the inside. I thought this would come out nice. And it did, very shiny.

If I could glaze my bowl again, I would do the whole thing black. Even the foot. On the inside I would only do two layer of the coal black and do the third layer a clear glaze. I would also like to do the same thing again but instead of using black, use a blue color.

My plans for glazing on my pinch pot are to use a darker blue color for everything except the foot. On the foot I will use a yellow shade, not to bright not to dark. I will do two layers of a dark blue then a layer of clear on top of that. Then a layer of yellow on the foot and a layer of clear on top of that. I think that will give my pinch pot a very nice shiny blue color.

Glazes changed through firing. They came out with a very shiny finish. The color was a lot sharper/shinier when it was done. As before it was very dull and light.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>