Blog Post 3

An artist can determine whether or not a particular direction in their work will be effective in many ways. While making choices in pottery, I have learned to make a overall plan of what you are going to do and commit to it. At the same time I like to  do bits and pieces of the overall project so that I can step back and revise what I’ve done and accomplished. You can also tell whether or not the direction you take in a project will be effective by using past mistakes and lessons to your advantage.

Artist can learn from trial and error by taking in what they did wrong and coming up with a plan or group of ideas to better the piece they are trying to perfect. Try, try, and try again until you  get your desired piece the way you want it to look. I have used “trial and error” on my carved tile work. Personally, I’ve gone through three tiles to get the red-earthenware clay to the right dryness for me to carve with out smudging the clay. Learning from mistakes I previously made on the first three tiles will help be better my work on my final Carved Tile piece.

My Dewey Decimal Project was glaze fired and I’m glad with the way it came out. The roof color is a little off from what I thought it would fire as. Next time, I will do more research on the glazes I will use to add more honest detail and emphasis to my piece.

  This is the piece I have been looking after for thoughts to help me with my Carved Tile piece.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>