blog post #5

In my recent work, I have created a Trompe L’oeil style piece. The teacher offered me a challenge of creating a glue bottle. I took her idea and put it into action. After observing the glue bottle and taking its measurements, I started out with a flat slab. I created a hollow, enclosed, flat-cylindrical form. Providing details around the cap of the glue bottle and a label to the piece was very helpful in adding detail and emphasis to my piece.

One issue I did face was the smoothing of the hollow form and making the bottle equal. Once the piece had dried over night, I realized the bottle had kind of drawn in on the back side. If i could redo this piece, (which I will consider), I would make the form more even throughout and smooth the piece to make it look more realistic. Considering it was my first hollow form of the year, personally, I am very pleased with the way the piece turned out.

I plan to glaze the bottle the same scheme as the Elmer’s Glue company has theirs colored.

   

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>